Books

Books

The inspiring art of Rick Bass

Few writers practice the art of the short story better than Rick Bass

In “For a Little While,” we see exactly how he uses the intimacy of human contact to make his creations soar

Books

Novel reminds us that we need stories

In the tradition of Graham Greene, Robert Stone and Norman Rush, Mischa Berlinski presents us with a novel about Westerners in a developing country, in this instance Haiti. Like his 2007 novel “Fieldwork,” set in Thailand, he places a fictional version of himself in the novel.

Books

Well-plotted stories are surprising and memorable

One adjective not often applied to short stories is “expansive,” but many of the stories in this collection by Mark Haddon (probably best known for his debut novel, “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time”) fit the description.

Books

This week's best-sellers from Publishers Weekly

Here are the best-sellers for the week that ended Sunday, May 22, compiled from data from independent and chain bookstores, book wholesalers and independent distributors nationwide, powered by Nielsen BookScan (c) 2016, The Nielsen Co.

Books

Conservatives are finally taking prejudice seriously

A funny thing happened when conservative media leaders met with Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg last week. The summit was meant to quell right-wing anger over news reports that the site's "trending topics" links are chosen by curators with a liberal bias. It was Facebook's effort at transparency. But it ended up revealing as much about conservative thought as it did about social media.

Books

Fat and happy: No one tells author Lindy West what to do

Lindy West is a defender of bodies: women's bodies, fat bodies, every body's right to exist in whatever way, shape or form, unjudged and unassailed. "Everyone has a body," she says. "We haven't developed brain-in-jar technology yet." Her writing puts forth the unfortunately radical proposition that each person's body is that person's own business.

Books

Best-sellers

Rankings for hard-cover books sold in Southern California, as reported by selected book stores:

Books

Best-sellers

Rankings for hard-cover books sold in Southern California, as reported by selected book stores:

Videos

More Videos

Highlights and interviews from 2016 state track and field meet 02:50

Highlights and interviews from 2016 state track and field meet

Firefighters update on creek search 01:34

Firefighters update on creek search

Tornado in northeast Kansas 00:59

Tornado in northeast Kansas

"I wanted to live." Derby woman recounts life since shooting 07:19

"I wanted to live." Derby woman recounts life since shooting

Firefighters discontinue search for boy who fell in creek 01:22

Firefighters discontinue search for boy who fell in creek

4A-I state softball: Augusta advances to semifinals 02:16

4A-I state softball: Augusta advances to semifinals

Derby's Trent Allen easily wins the Class 6A javelin 00:58

Derby's Trent Allen easily wins the Class 6A javelin

Southeast's Ira Hines wins the Class 6A long jump 00:19

Southeast's Ira Hines wins the Class 6A long jump

Eisenhower's Garrett Kennedy wins his second Class 5A pole vault title 00:43

Eisenhower's Garrett Kennedy wins his second Class 5A pole vault title

Firefighters search for boy who fell in creek 00:53

Firefighters search for boy who fell in creek

Downpour in Wichita Friday 01:22

Downpour in Wichita Friday

Share Video

VIDEO: Harper Lee’s hometown reflects on relationship with author's work

Harper Lee's hometown of Monroeville, Ala. brings her famed book "To Kill a Mockingbird" to life on a local stage each year. The town inspired the setting for the iconic book. Lee died Friday at the age of 89. (Originally published: July 14, 2015)
Courtesy of The New York Times
VIDEO: Harper Lee’s hometown reflects on relationship with author's work 02:07

VIDEO: Harper Lee’s hometown reflects on relationship with author's work

Highlights and interviews from 2016 state track and field meet 02:50

Highlights and interviews from 2016 state track and field meet

Firefighters update on creek search 01:34

Firefighters update on creek search

Tornado in northeast Kansas 00:59

Tornado in northeast Kansas

Entertainment Videos