Wichita State Shockers

WSU’s Landry Shamet is MVC’s Freshman of the Year; McDuffie joins Shamet on All-MVC team

Wichita State forward Markis McDuffie.
Wichita State forward Markis McDuffie. The Wichita Eagle

Wichita State played in the 2013 Final Four and backed that up with a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament in 2014.

Three seasons later, the Shockers rebuilt after losing two NBA players and put a freshman and a sophomore on the All-Missouri Valley Conference team. Coach Gregg Marshall is unsure how directly to draw a line from that postseason success to high-level recruiting, but the connection seems obvious.

Shocker guard Landry Shamet and forward Markis McDuffie were voted to the first team by a panel of media, media relations directors and coaches. Both were recruited in the aftermath of WSU’s big burst onto the national scene.

“When we first came, we were talking quite a bit about what we want our program to become, this is what we think we can do,” Marshall said. ‘You go to a Final Four, be a No. 1 seed … those are accomplishments, it’s not a wish list.”

McDuffie liked the combination of WSU’s underdog reputation and the national accomplishments.

“That’s what I came here for,” he said. “You’re able to overcome anything. For us to surprise a lot of people each year.”

McDuffie finished second in voting for Player of the Year behind Illinois State guard Paris Lee. Lee received 110 votes, McDuffie 34 and Shamet 30.

The Shockers might surprise on a national level. In the MVC, their dominance continues and the All-MVC teams reflect the depth that overwhelms opponents.

Guard Conner Frankamp and center Shaq Morris were named to the third team. Shamet was named Freshman of the Year.

Junior forward Darral Willis earned a spot on the All-Newcomer team. Junior Zach Brown is a member of the All-Defensive team. Shamet is also on the All-Freshman and All-Newcomer teams.

The Shockers and co-champion Illinois State combined for seven of the 15 spots on the All-MVC teams. Lee was also named Defensive Player, Missouri State’s Alize Johnson was Newcomer, and Loyola’s Aundre Jackson was Sixth Man.

Shamet is the first WSU freshman to earn All-MVC first-team honors since Cleo Littleton in 1951-52. He is the first freshman since Creighton’s Doug McDermott on the first team in 2010-11.

“He's a wonderful young man who listens and wants to be coached, wants to get better, wants to grind every day and improve, and wants to eventually be elite and play at the highest level,” Marshall said.

McDuffie averages 11.7 points and 5.7 rebounds to lead the Shockers in both categories.

Shamet averages 11.4 points and 3.4 assists while shooting 45.7 percent from three-point range. In 18 MVC games, he is shooting 51.8 percent from three-point range, best in the conference.

Frankamp, the first Shocker from the City League to earn an All-MVC spot since Henry Carr in 1987, averages 8.6 points and 2.8 assists. In MVC games, he is shooting 50.6 percent from three-point range, second behind Shamet. Frankamp averages 10.2 points and 2.9 assists in conference play.

Morris averages 9.5 points and 4.8 rebounds. In 17 MVC games, he averages 10.8 points and 5.9 rebounds.

The Shockers, with McDuffie the 2016 winner, go back to back for Freshman of the Year for the first time since Southern Illinois with Tony Harvey in 1989 and Ashraf Amaya in 1990.

Shamet’s inclusion on the All-MVC team is a rare event.

WSU’s Randy Burns earned honorable mention in 2002 as a freshman. In 1979-80, freshmen Antoine Carr and Cliff Levingston were named to the second team.

Freshmen were ineligible until 1972. Littleton played as a freshman during an exception because of the Korean War in 1950-51 and 1951-52.

Paul Suellentrop: 316-269-6760, @paulsuellentrop


Larry Bird Player of the Year — Paris Lee, Illinois State

Newcomer of the Year — Alize Johnson, Missouri State

Freshman of the Year — Landry Shamet, Wichita State

Sixth Man of the Year — Aundre Jackson, Loyola

First team

G Paris Lee, Illinois State

F Markis McDuffie, Wichita State

G Landry Shamet, Wichita State

F Alize Johnson, Missouri State

G Milton Doyle, Loyola

Second team

F Deontae Hawkins, Illinois State

G Jaylon Brown, Evansville

F MiKyle McIntosh, Illinois State

F Sean O’Brien, Southern Illinois

F Jeremy Morgan, Northern Iowa

Third team

G Conner Frankamp, Wichita State

F Donte Ingram, Loyola

C Shaq Morris, Wichita State

G Reed Timmer, Drake

G Brenton Scott, Indiana State


F Phil Fayne, Illinois State

F Aundre Jackson, Loyola

F Alize Johnson, Missouri State

F Darral Willis, Wichita State


C Koch Bar, Bradley

G Jordan Barnes, Indiana State

G Darrell Brown, Bradley

G Spencer Haldeman, Northern Iowa

G Landry Shamet, Wichita State

G Dru Smith, Evansville


C Thik Bol, Southern Illinois

F Zach Brown, Wichita State

F Obediah Church, Missouri State

G Paris Lee, Illinois State

F Jeremy Morgan, Northern Iowa

G Tony Wills, Illinois State

Rare rookies

Wichita State’s All-MVC freshmen and Freshman of the Year.

G Landry Shamet — 2017 All-MVC (first team), Freshman of the Year

F Markis McDuffie — 2016 Freshman of the Year

G Randy Burns — 2002 All-MVC (honorable mention), Freshman of the Year

G Jason Perez — 1997 Freshman of the Year

G Joe Griffin — 1987 Freshman of the Year

F Antoine Carr — 1980 All-MVC (second team)

F Cliff Levingston — 1980 All-MVC (second team)

F Cleo Littleton — 1952 All-MVC (first team)

Related stories from Wichita Eagle