Wichita State Shockers

Wichita State’s Cacy Williams named MVC softball Player of the Year for second time

Wichita State’s Cacy Williams is the 2014 and 2016 MVC Player of the Year, the first Shocker to win the honor twice.
Wichita State’s Cacy Williams is the 2014 and 2016 MVC Player of the Year, the first Shocker to win the honor twice. The Wichita Eagle

Wichita State senior first baseman Cacy Williams earned Missouri Valley Conference Player of the Year honors for a second time on Wednesday.

Williams, from Platte City, Mo., hit .411 in MVC play for the Shockers, who won the conference title. For the season, she is hitting. 362 with 14 home runs and 48 RBIs with a .678 slugging percentage. She set WSU’s career record with 39 home runs. Williams also won the honor in 2014.

She is the third Shocker to win Player of the Year honors, joining pitcher Patty Bautista (1989) and shortstop Tina Lewis (2003). Williams is the fifth MVC athlete to win the honor twice, the first in non-consecutive years.

She joins third baseman Liz Broyles, utility player Macklin Hitz and outfielder Brittany Fortner on the All-MVC team. Outfielder Paige Luellen, pitcher Jenni Brooks and catcher Mackenzie Wright are on the second team. Wright also earned a spot on the All-Defensive Team.

Drake’s Nicole Newman was named Pitcher of the Year. Evansville utility player Morgan Florey is the Freshman of the Year. Evansville, which went 24-25, 12-14 in the MVC, earned Coaching Staff of the Year honors.

The top-seeded Shockers begin play in the MVC Tournament on Friday in Carbondale, Ill.


First Team

C – Jordan de los Reyes, Illinois State

1B – Cacy Williams, Wichita State

2B – Chandra Parr, Evansville

3B – Liz Broyles, Wichita State

SS – Caitlin Wnek, Northern Iowa

OF – Erica Nagel, Loyola

OF – Kennedy Frank, Drake

OF – Megan Sowa, Drake

P – Nicole Newman, Drake

P – Brianna Jones, Southern Illinois

DP-UT/NP – Macklin Hitz, Wichita State

UT/P – Chelsea Ross, Northern Iowa

OF – Olivia Roark, Missouri State

OF – Brittany Fortner, Wichita State

1B – Shaye Harre, Southern Illinois

UT/P – Morgan Florey, Evansville

2B – Kelsey Wright, Drake

Second Team

C – Maria Schroeder, Bradley

1B – Kennedy Bailey, Northern Iowa

2B – Elizabeth Leonard, Bradley

3B – Taryn Pena, Drake

SS – Riley Strandgard, Illinois State

OF – Kelsey Montgomery, Indiana State

OF – Paige Luellen, Wichita State

OF – Erika Hansen, Bradley

P – Savanna Dover, Southern Illinois

P – Jenni Brooks, Wichita State

DP-UT/NP – Rachel Huggins, Bradley

UT/P – Regan Romshek, Illinois State

C – Mackenzie Wright, Wichita State

DP-UT/NP – Kailee Smith, Drake

3B – Sydney Jones, Southern Illinois

SS – Kelsey Gonzalez, Southern Illinois

OF – Micalla Rettinger, Northern Iowa

All-Defensive Team

3B – Kendall Duffy, Bradley

SS – Tasha Alexander, Drake

3B – Susan Norris, Evansville

C – Jordan de los Reyes, Illinois State

SS – Kassie Brown, Indiana State

3B – Jamie O'Brien, Loyola

SS – Erin Duewel, Missouri State

C – Anna Varriano, Northern Iowa

OF – Merri Anne Patterson, Southern Illinois

C – Mackenzie Wright, Wichita State