Wichita State Shockers

Kansas’ Ellis, Wichita State’s VanVleet earn spots on Senior CLASS team

Fred VanVleet added another post-season honor to his resume.
Fred VanVleet added another post-season honor to his resume. The Wichita Eagle

Wichita State senior Fred VanVleet and Kansas senior Perry Ellis earned spots on the Senior CLASS Award second team.

The Senior CLASS honors are designed to honor academic and community achievement for senior basketball players.

VanVleet, from Rockford, Ill., spoke at his high school’s graduation ceremony in 2014. His interest and example in guiding and providing a role model for his hometown is a constant goal. He also helps with numerous service projects at WSU, including speaking at schools, talking with inner-city youth and Kansas Kids.

Ellis, from Wichita, earned 2014-15 Big 12 men’s basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors and is a regular on the Big 12 and Kansas academic honor roll. He received the 2015 Danny Manning Mr. Jayhawk Award for leadership.

CLASS stands for “Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School.”

Michigan State’s Denzel Valentine was chosen as the individual award winner, which is selected by voting from coaches, national media and fans. Oklahoma’s Buddy Hield, who attended Sunrise Christian Academy, is on the first team.

Wichita State’s Ron Baker and VanVleet will join Evansville's Egidijus Mockevicius on the West All-Star team in the Reese's NABC All-Star game on Friday at NRG Stadium in Houston. The game tips at 4:30 p.m. following open practices for the Final Four. CBS will broadcast the game at noon Saturday.

Senior CLASS winners

First team

Denzel Valentine, Michigan State (Individual winner)

Ryan Arcidiacono, Villanova

Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia

Buddy Hield, Oklahoma

Justin Sears, Yale

Second team

Perry Ellis, Kansas

Georges Niang, Iowa State

Marcus Paige, North Carolina

Fred VanVleet, Wichita State

Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga