Wichita State Shockers

Wichita State’s Baker, VanVleet, Marshall grab NABC All-District honors

Wichita State’s Ron Baker, Fred VanVleet and coach Gregg Marshall received All-District 16 honors from the National Association of Basketball Coaches on Friday.

Baker and VanVleet earned spots on the all-district team and Marshall was named Coach of the Year.

District 16 consists of the 10 Missouri Valley Conference schools and the all-district team matched the one selected by MVC voters in early March. Coach of the Year, however, went to Marshall instead of Southern Illinois’ Barry Hinson, who won the MVC honor.

Marshall was named the top coach for the fourth time in five seasons after guiding the Shockers to a 26-9 record and the MVC regular-season title. Baker and VanVleet, both senior guards, made the all-district team for the third season.

Evansville’s D.J. Balentine and Egidijus Mockevicius and SIU’s Anthony Beane joined the all-district team.

Illinois State’s Devaughn Akoon-Purcell and MiKyle McIntosh, Indiana State’s Brenton Scott and Devonte Brown and Northern Iowa’s Wes Washpun were named to the second team.

Paul Suellentrop: 316-269-6760, @paulsuellentrop