State Colleges

Odessa’s Vetie Maroy has lead after three rounds of NJCAA golf tournament

Vetie Maroy of Odessa College has a one-shot lead heading into Friday’s final found of the NJCAA Division I men’s golf tournament at Sand Creek Station in Newton.

Indian Hills (Iowa) Community College, with four golfers in the top 18, has a two-shot lead in the team competition over Eastern Florida State.

Maroy’s 6-under-par 66 on Thursday was the low round of the tournament, putting him one stroke ahead of Eastern Florida State’s Michael DeMorat, who had a 67 on Wednesday before a 2-under 70 on Thursday. McLennan College’s Cory Matthew Donnell is three shots off the lead after a second straight 70.

Hutchinson’s Chase Coble, who lead after the first round, is in 12th place at 2-over 218. He’s the highest Jayhawk Conference golfer, and Dodge City is the conference’s highest team in sixth place, 26 shots off the pace.

At Sand Creek Station, Newton

Par 72, 7,359 Yards

Through Three Rounds

Team scores – Indian Hills 289-292-280–861, E. Florida St. 290-294-279–863, McLennan 293-297-280–870, Odessa 296-291-290–877; Wallace St. 289-308-285–882; Dodge City 296-298-293–887; Western Texas 295-295-302–892; Hutchinson 292-310-296–898; New Mexico JC 298-305-298–901; Faulkner St. 300-312-289–901; E. Arizona 298-311-297–906; Central Alabama 306-305-296–907; Trinidad St. 297-311-302–910; Iowa Western 305-317-301–923; Midland 318-312-295–925; Pima 296-329-303–928; Cape Fear 31-320-302–933; Scottsdale 315-318-308–941; E. Wyoming 321-322-318–961.

Top individuals – 1. Vetie Maroy, Odessa, 71-71-66–208; 2. Michael DeMorat, E. Florida St., 72-67-70–209; 3. Cory Matthew Donnell, McLennan, 71-70-70–211; 4. Kerry Sweeney, E. Florida St., 71-74-67–212; T5. David Wicks, Midland, 73-71-69–213; Jakob Garstecki, Indian Hills, 73-72-68–213; 7. Marty Sanchez, New Mexico JC, 72-73-69–214; T8. Ryan Gaske, E. Arizona, 72-75-68–215; George Trujillo, Indian Hills, 73-71-71–215; 10. P.J. Shields, Faulkner St., 70-75-71–216; 11. Drew Cooke, E. Florida St., 73-75-69–217; 12. Chase Coble, Hutchinson, 69-76-73–218; T13. Sylas Elliott, Wallace St., 72-78-69–219; Ryan Scott Johnson, McLennan, 74-78-67–219; Trevor Ullestad, Indian Hills, 72-75-72–219; Jack Rickabuagh, Dodge City, 72-74-73–219; Ben Maskus, Dodge City, 70-75-74–219; T18. Luis Acevedo, Indian Hills, 71-76-73–220; Jacob Henderson, Western Texas, 72-73-75–220; T20. David Rauer, Pima, 75-76-70–221; Alister Balcombe, Iowa Western, 71-75-75–221; Eli Marty, Wallace St., 74-74-73–221; Andrew Huseman, Indian Hills, 78-74-69–221; Will Clark, Odessa, 74-76-71–221; Elliott Fullalove, W. Texas, 73-73-75–221; Hunter Shattuck, McLennan, 74-73-74–221.