Opinion Columns & Blogs

Rural-urban divide on sales tax collections


Sedgwick and Johnson counties account for about 46 percent of the sales taxes collected in the state, according to the Kansas Department of Revenue. Douglas, Shawnee and Wyandotte counties account for about another 15 percent of collections. Because rural Kansas counties don’t collect much sales tax, Patricia Clark, Kansas director of the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Rural Development program, worries they may become even more reliant on local property taxes to fund local services, the Lawrence Journal-World reported. That could make it even more expensive to live in rural Kansas, which already is struggling to retain residents. – Phillip Brownlee