Opinion Columns & Blogs

Kansas ends drought on House Agriculture Committee

Marshall AP

It’s great that Kansas will once again be represented on the House Agriculture Committee. Rep. Roger Marshall, R-Great Bend, was appointed to the committee this week. Kansas had lacked a member on the ag committee since former Rep. Tim Huelskamp was booted off it in 2012. This lack of representation was a key campaign issue in the GOP primary last August, when Marshall defeated Huelskamp. Kansas is also fortunate that Sen. Pat Roberts will continue to serve as chairman of the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry. Roberts said Marshall will be valuable as Congress works on the next farm bill. “I am glad to have him in the House riding shotgun for Kansas’ farmers and ranchers,” Roberts said. – Phillip Brownlee