Politics & Government

Council member Lavonta Williams finalist for leadership award

City council member Lavonta Williams is one of five finalists for the annual Women in Municipal Government Leadership Award, according to a news release.

Women in Municipal Government (WIMG) is a constituency group of the National League of Cities. It formed in 1974 as a forum for communication and networking among women municipal officials.

The award winner will be announced at the group’s 40th Anniversary Anniversary Leadership Award Luncheon during the Congress of Cities and Exposition Nov. 20 in Austin. Williams and council member Janet Miller are registered to attend.

“The WIMG Leadership Award finalists are outstanding local elected officials who serve as mentors and models for future female leaders. Each finalist has worked tirelessly to create better cities for the residents they represent, and we look forward to announcing the winner at the WIMG Leadership Award Luncheon in Austin,” said Mildred Crump, WIMG president, in the release.

Other finalists for the award:

▪ Gina Cunningham, mayor, Woodridge, Ill.

▪ Betsy Crossley, mayor, Brentwood, Tenn.

▪ Alfred Mae Drakeford, council member, Camden, S.C.

▪ Rae Sinor, councilmember, Deer Park, Texas

Reach Kelsey Ryan at 316-269-6752 or kryan@wichitaeagle.com. Follow her on Twitter: @kelsey_ryan.