Politics & Government

How Kansas senators voted on the tax bill

The Senate voted 21-17 on Sunday night to pass a Senate substitute for HB 2109.

The bill protects the zero income tax rate for pass-through business owners while adding four-tenths of a cent to the general sales tax. After a year, the sales tax on food would drop 1.6 cents.

Here’s how senators voted.

Republicans voting yes: Les Donovan, Michael O’Donnell, Mike Petersen and Susan Wagle, Wichita; Steve Abrams, Arkansas City; Terry Bruce, Hutchinson; Jim Denning, Overland Park; Steve Fitzgerald, Leavenworth; Mitch Holmes, St. John; Dan Kerschen, Garden Plain; Jeff King, Independence; Forrest Knox, Altoona; Jake LaTurner, Pittsburg; Garrett Love, Montezuma; Julia Lynn, Olathe; Ty Masterson, Andover; Jeff Melcher, Leawood; Mary Pilcher-Cook, Shawnee; Larry Powell, Garden City; Greg Smith, Overland Park; Richard Wilborn, McPherson

Republicans voting no: Molly Baumgardner, Louisburg; Elaine Bowers, Concordia; Jeff Longbine, Emporia; Carolyn McGinn, Sedgwick; Ralph Ostmeyer, Grinnell; Dennis Pyle, Hiawatha; Vicki Schmidt, Topeka; Caryn Tyson, Parker; Kay Wolf, Prairie Village

Democrats: All voted no.

Absent: Tom Arpke, R-Salina; Rob Olson, R-Olathe