Small Business

SBA taking nominations for small business awards

The U.S. Small Business Administration’s Wichita office is accepting nominations for its 2015 small business awards.

The categories are:

▪ National Small Business Person of the Year.

▪ Exporter of the Year.

▪ Phoenix Awards for accomplishments during disaster recovery.

▪ Small Business Prime Contractor of the Year.

▪ Small Business Subcontractor of the Year.

▪ Dwight D. Eisenhower Award for Excellence (for large prime contractors who have used small businesses as suppliers and contractors).

▪ SBA 8(a) Graduate of the Year.

▪ Small Business Development Center Excellence and Innovation Award.

▪ Women’s Business Center of Excellence Award.

▪ Veterans Business Outreach Center Excellence in Service Award.

▪ Small Business Investment Company of the Year.

Last year, the SBA’s Kansas Small Business Person of the Year was Alex Harb, owner of Wichita’s Ribbit Computers.

All nominations must be submitted online, postmarked or hand delivered to the SBA’s Wichita District Office by 2 p.m. Jan. 5.

For more information, go to or call Michael Aumack at 316-269-6275.