Huelskamp leads GOP field in 1st District; Jenkins wins in 2nd

TOPEKA — State Sen. Tim Huelskamp of Fowler led a field of six Republicans for the 1st Congressional District of western and central Kansas on Tuesday.

The winner will succeed Rep. Jerry Moran, who has held the seat since 1997 and was running for the GOP Senate nomination.

Former Salina Mayor Alan Jilka was the only Democrat on the 1st District ballot.

In the 2nd Congressional District, U.S. Rep. Lynn Jenkins has won the Republican nomination in her bid for a second term.

Jenkins turned back a challenge Tuesday from state Sen. Dennis Pyle of Hiawatha.

The 2nd District covers much of eastern Kansas and includes the cities of Manhattan, Topeka and Pittsburg, as well as Forts Riley and Leavenworth.

Democrats in the district were choosing among three candidates in their primary Tuesday.

Jenkins is a former two-term state treasurer. She won her seat in the House by ousting incumbent Democrat Nancy Boyda in 2008.

In the 3rd District, Stephene Moore has won the Democratic primary, the first step toward replacing her husband in the House.

Moore defeated Thomas Scherer in Tuesday's voting.

The race to succeed Democratic Rep. Dennis Moore also drew nine Republicans to their party's primary.

Dennis Moore first won the seat in 1998. He announced last year he would retire at the end of his current term.

The 3rd District covers all of Johnson and Wyandotte counties and the eastern portion of Douglas County, including parts of Lawrence.

Related stories from Wichita Eagle