Music News & Reviews

On the town (June 24)

Wichita Pride Festival

Wichita Pride, a three-day event that celebrates the local lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community, is expected to draw 2,500 people downtown today through Sunday with concerts, a parade and more.

It starts tonight with a block party from 6 to 11 at Old Cowtown Museum, 1865 W. Museum Blvd., where most of the events will take place.

The festival continues Saturday from 10 a.m. to 11 p.m. with a music lineup that includes Stars Go Dim.

A parade on Sunday starts at noon downtown and ends at Cowtown. Lt. Dan Choi is a featured guest.

Music acts Sunday include Crystal Waters.

Tickets for all three days are $12 in advance or $15 at the gate (single-day price for Friday is $5; $10 for Saturday or Sunday).

Tickets can be purchased at the gate or online at, where a full schedule is available.

Robin Macy in concert

Carpenter Place at 1501 N. Meridian is putting on a benefit concert from 7:30 to 9 p.m. today featuring local songstress Robin Macy . Tickets are $15 at the door, free for ages 12 and under. Attendees are encouraged to bring lawn chairs and blankets. For more information, call 316-942-3221.

Mudbugs at Oeno

The Mudbugs Cajun & Zydeco Band will highlight an evening on Oeno's patio Saturday, complete with a Cajun buffet from 7 to 10 p.m. The band performs from 8 to 11. Oeno is at 330 N. Mead.

Ha-Ha's for the Cause

The Arc of Sedgwick County has a hilarious fundraiser planned for 7 p.m. Monday at the Loony Bin Comedy Club, 6140 E. 21st St. Ha-Ha's for the Cause will feature headlining comedian Brandon Vestal from NBC's "Last Comic Standing," plus several other Wichita funny people. Tickets are $15 and $35 and are available at east-side Old Chicago, at The Arc, 2919 W. Second St., or at the door the night of the show. For more information, call 316-943-1191.

Get your Gun

New rock band Elephant Gun will debut tonight in a show with Black Gasoline at Blue Lounge, 608 E. Douglas. It starts at 10 p.m., and cover is $5. Elephant Gun is the new project from Michael "Archie" Archibold (lead guitar), Bryce Weinberg (vocals and guitar) and Matt Wimberley (drums), who performed together in the band In the Wake. Caleb Drummond joins them on keyboard and bass.