Varsity Basketball

The state tournament's greatest players

The inclination is to take Kansas' greatest boys and girls basketball players and, so long as they played in a state tournament, name them kings and queens of the tournament.

But that's not what we were looking for. We're attempting to identify the tournament's greatest. The boys and girls who led their teams to championships. In their tournament, at that time. Because we know Moundridge's Jacy Holloway doesn't stack up to Wichita Heights' Antoine Carr _ except in state titles (four to one).


First team

Lucius Allen, KC Wyandotte

Greg Dreiling, Kapaun Mount Carmel

Jacy Holloway, Moundridge

Ricky Ross, Wichita South

Darnell Valentine, Wichita Heights

Coach: Walt Shublom, KC Wyandotte

Second team

B.H. Born, Medicine Lodge

Antoine Carr, Wichita Heights

Perry Ellis, Wichita Heights

Johnny Murdock, Wichita South

Josh Reid, Brewster

Third team

Larry Drew, KC Wyandotte

Francis Johnson, Hartford

Cleo Littleton, Wichita East

Dave Piehler, Newton

Ernie Schmidt, Winfield


First team

Tiffany Bias, Andover Central

Laurie Koehn, Moundridge

Jackie Stiles, Claflin

Kendra Wecker, Marysville

Lynette Woodard, Wichita North

Coach: Terry English, Bishop Miege

Second team

Kelly Dougherty, Leavenworth

Camilla Hartzler, Spearville

Shalee Lehning, Sublette

Kareema Williams, Wichita Southeast

Jeneka Joyce, Washburn Rural

Third team

Rhonda Matzke, Silver Lake

Amy Prose, Little River

Ashley Sweat, McPherson

Miklannet Tennal, Centralia

Brooke Ubelaker, Osborne

Related stories from Wichita Eagle