Varsity Kansas

Basketball roundup: Maize boys clinch first-place tie in AV-CTL I

Maize gained the advantage early Friday, racing to a 16-4 lead after the first quarter and beat Newton 54-35 in the final game of the regular season, clinching a share of the AV-CTL Division I championship.

Ten players scored for the Eagles (13-7, 10-2), led by Jacob Schultz’s 11 points. Tevin Berry had 13 points for Newton (6-14, 3-9).

Other boys

Collegiate 76, Circle 52 — Collegiate grabbed a share of the AV-CTL IV title with a blowout win in Towanda. Nine different players scored for Collegiate (17-3, 9-1), led by Cody McNerney’s 12 points and Kendall Reed’s 11 points.

Eisenhower 69, Goddard 59 — Eisenhower won the AV-CTL II title outright with a win over rival Goddard. Eisenhower (19-1, 11-1) was led by 28 points from 6-foot-8 center Matt Pile and 21 points from sophomore guard Dylan Vincent. Tate Vang led Goddard (9-11, 5-7) with 24 points.

Salina South 71, Derby 57 — Salina South trounced visiting Derby behind 21 points from Trace Kochevar in a game that determined the runner-up in AV-CTL I. Nyjee Wright led Derby (12-8, 8-4) with 18 points. Jace Marcotte added 12 points for Salina South (14-6, 9-3).

El Dorado 74, Winfield 56 — Kaden Fowler scored 16 points to lead El Dorado to the win over visiting Winfield.


Collegiate 47, Circle 40 — Collegiate pulled off the upset at Circle and evened its record in AV-CTL IV play. Loan’Anh Johnson led Collegiate (7-13, 5-5) with 12 points, while Kennedy Brandenburg chipped in with 10 points. Carissa Beck led Circle (13-7, 7-3) with 15 points.

Goddard 53, Eisenhower 30 — Goddard (16-4, 10-2 AV-CTL II) led 24-3 at halftime and held Eisenhower (6-14, 3-9) scoreless in the second quarter. C.J. Wilhelm led Godddard with 15 points, while Samantha Schwab added 14 points.

McPherson 48, Buhler 25 — McPherson completed its perfect run through AV-CTL III behind stifling defense, leading 39-17 after three quarters at Buhler. Taylor Robertson led McPherson (18-2, 10-0) with 10 points.

Derby 51, Salina South 32 — Derby earned a share of the the AV-CTL I championship with Newton with the win over visiting Salina South. Freshman center Kennedy Brown led Derby (17-3, 10-2) with 18 points and Haley Mills added 10 points. Derby led 22-15 at halftime and blew the game open in the third quarter, oustcoring Salina South 20-8.