Varsity Kansas


The Wichita Sports Commission announced the finalists for its 14th annual awards banquet, which is June 30 at The Hyatt Regency.

The finalists for the Lynette Woodard high school female athlete of the year are Heights' Jhasmin Bowen, Bishop Carroll's Sarah Balderas and Kapaun Mount Carmel's Mackenzie Maki.

The Barry Sanders male high school athlete of the year finalists are Rose Hill's Brady Foltz, Andover Central's Boston Stiverson and Heights' Evan Wessel.

The college female athlete finalists are Cowley's Roslandy Acosta, Butler's Cindy Benitez, Newman's Laryssa Ferreira and Wichita State's Tonya Nero.

The college male athlete finalists are Butler's Cornellius Carradine, Cowley's Josh Gracia, Wichita State's Graham Hatch and Newman's Noah Smithson.

The finalists for the professional athlete of the year are the Wild's Randy Kelly, the Wingnuts' Ryan Patterson and the Thunder's Matt Robinson.


Samantha Sheeley has been hired as pitching coach at Wichita State.

Sheeley played two seasons at Emporia State for new Shocker coach Kristi Bredbenner. Sheeley, 25, went 31-8 with a 1.49 ERA in 2008, helping the Hornets to the NCAA Division II College World Series. She was named MIAA Pitcher of the Year and All-American by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association.

"She's high energy and obviously knows my coaching style," Bredbenner said. "She's ready to push these girls."

Sheeley spent the past three seasons at Winona (Minn.) State as a graduate assistant. She also pitched professionally for the Tennessee Diamonds and the Rockford Thunder of the National Pro Fastpitch League.

Bredbenner said she expects to fill her other assistant coaching spot soon.


Tonight's racing at 81 Speedway features cruisers, hornet, youth hornet, mod lites and E sprint classes. Gates open at 5:30 p.m., racing starts at 7:30.

On Saturday, all three modified divisions race, plus street stock and thumper divisions. Gates open at 5 p.m., racing starts at 7.


Anaheim Ducks forward Corey Perry, who scored a league-best 50 goals, won the Hart Trophy given to the NHL's MVP. His surprise win came at the expense of scoring champion Daniel Sedin of the Vancouver Canucks, who was trying to complete an unprecedented MVP double dip after his twin brother and teammate Henrik took the honors last year.

Perry's win capped the two-hour NHL Awards ceremony. Tampa Bay's Martin St. Louis, who won the Lady Byng Trophy for gentlemanly and excellent play, was the third MVP finalist.

Detroit's Nicklas Lidstrom returned to the awards platform by winning his seventh Norris Trophy as the league's best defenseman. Lidstrom tied Doug Harvey as a seven-time winner, one behind record-holder Bobby Orr.

Tim Thomas added his second Vezina Trophy as top goalie. Dan Bylsma of the Pittsburgh Penguins picked up the Jack Adams Award as coach of the year, and Ryan Kesler of the Vancouver Canucks ended Pavel Datsyuk's three-year run as Selke Trophy winner, honoring the best defensive forward. Jeff Skinner, the 19-year-old sensation of the Carolina Hurricanes, won the Calder Trophy as rookie of the year.


NFL owners and players met in the Boston area Wednesday in the latest attempt to work out a new collective bargaining agreement. Commissioner Roger Goodell and members of his labor committee reportedly resumed negotiations with players' association chief DeMaurice Smith and several players on Wednesday.


Sporting Kansas City extended its MLS unbeaten streak to six matches with a 0-0 draw at the Philadelphia Union. Sporting KC (3-6-5) improved to 2-0-4 during its streak.