Ask Sports


What's the record for grounding into double plays? Is Billy Butler close?

Boston's Jim Rice holds the dubious record, when the Hall of Famer grounded into 36 double plays in 1984.

Billy Butler is on pace to best that mark.

The Kansas City hitter has 24 GiDP through Friday's games, which leads the majors.

If Butler keeps this pace up, he'll finish with 38.

Of course, there's a good chance Butler won't reach the mark as his pace has slowed. He only grounded into double plays three times in July, compared to 8 in June, 6 in May and 7 in April.

Butler has two games of two GiDPs. The record is actually four in one game, held by Detroit's Goose Goslin in 1934 and the Mets' Joe Torre in 1975.

What's the most no-hitters in one season?

The record is seven, which happened in consecutive seasons in 1990 and 1991.

In 1990, there were five individual and two combined no-hitters: Mark Langston and Mike Witt, California vs. Seattle; Randy Johnson, Seattle vs. Detroit; Nolan Ryan, Texas vs. Oakland; Dave Stewart, Oakland vs. Toronto; Fernando Valenzuela, Dodgers vs. St. Louis; Terry Mulholland, Philadelphia vs. San Francisco; Dave Stieb, Toronto vs. Cleveland.

1991 the no-hitters were: Nolan Ryan, Texas vs. Toronto; Tommy Greene, Philadelphia vs. Montreal; Bob Milacki, Mike Flanagan, Mark Williamson and Gregg Olson, Baltimore vs. Oakland; Dennis Martinez, Montreal vs. Dodgers; Wilson Alvarez, White Sox vs. Baltimore; Bret Saberhagen, Kansas City vs. White Sox; Kent Mercker, Mark Wohlers and Alejandro Pena, Atlanta vs. San Diego.

With two months remaining in the current season, 2010 could top the record.

As a reminder, this year's no-nos include: Ubaldo Jimenez, Colorado vs. Atlanta; Dallas Braden, Oakland vs. Tampa Bay; Roy Halladay, Philadelphia vs. Florida; Edwin Jackson, Arizona vs. Tampa Bay; Matt Garza, Tampa Bay vs. Detroit.

This season is tied with 1962, 1968 and 1973 with five no-hitters. There were six in 1908, 1915, 1917 and 1969.

One could argue that with two perfect games and third one broken up (Armando Galarraga), this year's crop is more impressive than either 1990 or 1991.

We're still going to pick 1990, which featured Hall of Famer Ryan and Johnson, who will likely be a shoo-in into the Hall. Stewart and Valenzuela pitched theirs on the same day.

There were also two more 1990 games that don't count as regulation no-hitters: The White Sox's Melido Perez threw a rain-shortened six-inning no-hitter and the Yankees' Andy Hawkins didn't allow a hit in his eight-inning complete game, but he did give up four runs in the loss. The Yankees were on the road that day, meaning Hawkins didn't have to face the victorious White Sox in the ninth.

_Joshua Wood