Wichita Wingnuts

Wingnuts' league expands

The American Association added four teams from the Northern League and altered its divisional alignment for the 2011 season, the league announced Wednesday.

The Wichita Wingnuts will play in the Central Division along with Lincoln, Sioux City and newcomers Kansas City and Gary (Ind.)

The two other new teams — Fargo-Moorhead and Winnipeg — will play in the North Division with St. Paul and Sioux Falls. The South Division remains unchanged.

The Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks beat the Kansas City T-Bones in the Northern League championship series last month. Between them they've won four of the last five league titles — Gary won it the other year.

The American Association will regular season will increase from 96 games to 100 next season. The league has not yet announced when the season will begin.