Other Sports


Dinara Safina withdrew from WTA Sony Ericsson Championships in Doha, Qatar, because of a back injury, handing the year-end No. 1 ranking to Serena Williams. Safina was serving at 1-1 in the first set against Jelena Jankovic when she stopped play, walked over to her chair and covered her face with a towel. She then told the chair umpire she could not continue. Williams beat sister Venus 5-7, 6-4, 7-6 (4). Caroline Wozniacki beat Victoria Azarenka 1-6, 6-4, 7-5.

* Genesis tennis director Simon Norman has been chosen USTA Missouri Valley High Performance Coach of the Year. Norman will also receive the Missouri Valley Distinguished Service award for his overall contribution to tennis. Both awards will be presented at the Missouri Valley annual meeting on Dec. 5 in Kansas City.


The 18th annual Frostbite Regatta will be held from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Sunday on the Little Arkansas River between the 11th Street bridge and the Wulz Riverside Tennis Center. Collegiate teams from Wichita State, Kansas State, Kansas and other regional schools are scheduled to compete. Races start in 10-minute intervals with a lunch break from noon to 12:45 p.m.


Tickets for Wichita State's men's exhibition game against Newman on Nov. 7 are on sale at goshockers.com or at the Koch Arena ticket office. Non-conference tickets go on sale next Wednesday. Conference tickets will go on sale later. Single-game exhibition and non-conference tickets are $20.

* Heights senior Kamisha Richard has made an oral commitment to New Orleans. Richard, a forward, averaged 12.9 points last season for the Heights girls, who finished fourth in Class 6A.

* Kevin Durant had 25 points and 11 rebounds, Jeff Green added 24 points and the Oklahoma City Thunder led from start to finish in a 102-89 victory over the Sacramento Kings on Wednesday night in the NBA season opener for both teams.... The Cleveland Cavaliers lost for the second straight night, falling to Toronto 101-91 despite LeBron James' 25th career triple-double.... Dwight Howard had 21 points and 15 rebounds as the Orlando Magic beat Philadelphia 120-106.


Missouri beat Kansas State 3-0 (25-21, 25-20, 25-18) in Columbia, Mo. JuliAnne Chisholm had 10 kills to lead K-State (8-13, 2-9 Big 12).

* Wichita State senior Emily Stockman was named Missouri Valley Conference Scholar-Athlete of the Week. Stockman, an outside hitter from Colorado Springs, has a 3.30 grade-point average in exercise science.


Wichita State's Black team won the fall series with a 10-7 victory in Game 7 at Eck Stadium. Will Baez and Preston Springer homered for Black, which pounded out 17 hits.


Wichita State senior Dustin Garza ended his fall season with his fourth Missouri Valley Conference golfer of the week honor. Garza shot a 6-under-par 210 to share medalist honors at the Aldila Scenic City Invitational this week. Garza averaged a 2-under-par 70.2 in 15 rounds this fall. He won medalist honors in four of five tournaments.


Sidney Crosby had his third career hat trick and the Pittsburgh Penguins became the first NHL team to reach 10 victories this season, snapping the Montreal Canadiens' four-game winning streak with a 6-1 victory Wednesday night.... Clarke MacArthur and Tim Kennedy scored early in the first period to help Buffalo improve to beat New Jersey 4-0 and improve to 4-0 on the road.

Horse racing

The owners of unbeaten Zenyatta made the Classic their first choice when pre-entries for the Breeders' Cup were released Wednesday. The 5-year-old mare is 13 for 13 in her career, including a victory last year in the Ladies' Classic. She has never run against males. Zenyatta was cross-entered in the Ladies Classic.

"There's definitely a preference for the Classic," trainer John Shirreffs said. "The Classic is obviously a big challenge, but if she's doing well and peaking toward that race, there's no reason not to go in that race."

Final entries for the Breeders' Cup, which will be held at Santa Anita for the second consecutive year, are due Tuesday. The races will be run Nov. 6-7.

A total of 166 horses were pre-entered for the 14 races, including nine winners from last year.