Kansas City Chiefs

Chiefs shuffle roster, claiming seven players and waiving six

The Chiefs, taking full advantage of their opportunity to be first to claim players off waivers by virtue of their 2-14 record of a year ago, were busy on Sunday.

Less than 24 hours after the NFL-mandated, regular-season roster reduction, the Chiefs claimed seven players and waived six players, bringing them to the limit of 53 players on the active roster.

The Chiefs waived tight end Kevin Brock, cornerback Jalil Brown, linebacker Zac Diles, wide receiver Devon Wylie, former Kansas safety Bradley McDougald and defensive tackle Jerrell Powe. All were at practice on Sunday morning but got the word later in the day.

The Chiefs claimed the following players: wide receiver Chad Hall (San Francisco), tight end Sean McGrath (Seattle), defensive lineman Jaye Howard (Seattle), inside linebacker James Michael Johnson (Cleveland), outside linebacker Dezman Moses (Green Bay) and cornerbacks Ron Parker (Seattle) and Marcus Cooper (San Francisco).

The addition of the seven players means the Chiefs now have 30 new players on the team general manager John Dorsey and coach Andy Reid inherited.

Here’s a thumbnail look at the seven new Chiefs, all of whom will fill backup roles at the bottom of the depth chart :

Practice squad set

The Chiefs signed eight players to their practice squad on Sunday.

They include: wide receiver Frankie Hammond Jr., tight end Demetrius Harris, offensive linemen Tommie Draheim, Rokevious Watkins, Matt Reynolds, linebacker Darin Drakeford, former Kansas fullback Toben Opurum and defensive back Malcolm Bronson. All eight were released in Saturday’s roster reduction to 53 players.

Watkins must serve a one-week’s suspension dating to his time with the St. Louis Rams for violating the NFL’s drug program.

Related stories from Wichita Eagle