Wichita State Shockers

WSU's Durley named All-Missouri Valley

Wichita State senior J.T. Durley earned All-Missouri Valley Conference honors today.

Durley, a 6-foot-8 center from Pittsburg, Texas, averaged 11.3 points and 5.1 rebounds for the Shockers (23-7, 14-4 MVC).

Junior guard Toure Murry was named second-team All-MVC. Junior forward Ben Smith earned Sixth Man of the Year honors.

Murry averaged 9.7 points, five rebounds and 3.4 assists for the Shockers. Smith averaged 7.1 points, making 42.5 percent of his three-pointers.

Wichita State, which held teams to 41.3-percent shooting and led the MVC in rebound margin (8.3) and scoring margin (10.8), was named Defensive Team of the Year.

Missouri State's Kyle Weems was named Larry Bird Player of the Year. Northern Iowa guard Kwadzo Ahelegbe was named Defensive Player of the Year. Creighton forward Doug McDermott swept the Freshman and Newcomer of the Year awards.

Weems, Ahelegbe, McDermott, Durley and Bradley guard Andrew Warren, the MVC's top scorer, made up the All-MVC team. Murry, Missouri State's Will Creekmore and Jermaine Mallett, Evansville's Colt Ryan and Creighton's Antoine Young are on the second team.

Durley's selection gives WSU All-MVC players in back-to-back seasons for the first time since Jamar Howard in 2003 and 2004. Guard Clevin Hannah as a first-team pick in 2010.

WSU hasn't had different players named All-MVC in consecutive seasons since Sasha Radunovich in 1988 and Steve Grayer in 1989..