Wichita State Shockers

WSU pulls title sweep at Cedar Falls

Wichita State is the king of all indoors in the Missouri Valley Conference.

The Shockers won the men's and women's indoor track and field championships on Sunday in Cedar Falls, Iowa. It is the first men's title. The women won for the third time, adding to their back-to-back titles in 2006-07.

Coach Steve Rainbolt said Saturday's performances gave the team momentum. The men were picked four in the pre-meet coaches polls; the women second.

"It seemed like the heptathlon on Day I got things going," Rainbolt said. "It was the snowball effect of one good performance leading to another."

The WSU men totaled 176 points to finish ahead of favorite Southern Illinois (148) and eight-time defending champion Northern Iowa (143). The WSU women totaled 151.5 points to defeat favored Southern Illinois by six points.

The WSU men won with a balanced performance, exemplified by five Shockers placing in the heptathlon. The women did it with outstanding performances by their top athletes.

On the men's side, hurdler Todd McKown was named the Most Outstanding Track Athlete after winning the 60-meter hurdles with a career-best time of 8.00 seconds. He finished second in the 200 meters with a time of 21.91.

Chris Dickman earned Most Outstanding Field Athlete honors after winning heptathlon with 5,608 points. Krzystof Slupkowski finished second with Justin Taylor in fourth.

Nate Thiesfeld won the 400-meter dash with a time of 49.04, with teammate Justin Smith (49.14) finishing second. Tyler Simmons won the long jump with a career-best leap of 25 feet, 6 1/4 inches. Josh Crawford won his second triple jump title (50-6 3/4). WSU finished the meet by winning the men's 1,600-meter relay.

On the women's side, sprinter Audacia Moore and distance runners Tonya Nero and Leah Thompson combined to score 77 points.

Moore and Nero tied for Most Valuable Athlete with their points totals. Moore won the 200-meter dash with a school-record time of 24.19 seconds. She finished second in the 60 with a time of 7.57 and fourth in the triple jump with a distance of 39 feet, 4 inches.

Nero won the mile (4:52.35) and the 5,000 meters (17:31.03) and finished second in the 3,000 (9:40.18). Thompson finished second in the mile (4:55.57) and third in the 5,000 (17:34.01).

Rainbolt received men's and women's Coach of the Year honors.