Wichita State Shockers

WSU's Clevin Hannah named All-MVC

Wichita State point guard Clevin Hannah was voted to the All-Missouri Valley Conference team released this afternoon.

He is the first Shocker to earn All-MVC first- or second-team honors since Player of the Year Paul Miller in 2006.

Hannah, a senior from Holly Springs, Miss., averages 12.2 points. He is second in the MVC in assists with an average of 4.9 and second in assist-to-turnover ratio at 2.3. He leads the MVC in free-throw accuracy at 90.4 percent and is second in three-point percentage at 43.1.

Sophomore guard Toure Murry was an honorable-mention selection. He averages 11.8 points and 5.0 rebounds. He was also named to the all-defensive team.

WSU junior forward Gabe Blair was named to the All-Newcomer team. Blair, a transfer from East Carolina, averaged 6.8 points and 4.9 rebounds.

The MVC's All-Bench and Most Improved teams are released Wednesday. Coach of the Year and Scholar-Athlete honors are announced Thursday.

The second-seeded Shockers (23-8) open play in the MVC Tournament at 6:05 p.m., Friday. They play the winner of Thursday's game between seventh-seeded Missouri State (19-11) and 10th-seeded Evansville (9-20).


First team

Dinma Odiakosa, C, Illinois State, Sr.

Adam Koch, F, Northern Iowa, Sr.

Clevin Hannah, G, Wichita State, Sr.

Josh Young, G, Drake, Sr.

Osiris Eldridge, G, Illinois State, Sr.

Second team

Jordan Eglseder, C, Northern Iowa, Sr.

Kyle Weems, F, Missouri State, So.

Kenny Lawson, C, Creighton, Jr.

Harry Marshall, G, Indiana State, Sr.

Sam Maniscalco, G, Bradley, Jr.

Honorable mention

Kwadzo Ahelegbe, Northern Iowa

Andrew Warren, Bradley

Adam Templeton, Drake

Toure Murry, Wichita State

Ali Farokhmanesh, Northern Iowa

Player of the Year _ Koch


Colt Ryan, G, Evansville

Seth VanDeest, C, Drake

Gene Teague, C, Southern Illinois

Jackie Carmichael, F, Illinois State

Ethan Wragge, F, Creighton

Freshman of the Year _ Ryan


Adam Leonard, G, Missouri State, Jr.

Tony Freeman, G, Southern Illinois, Sr.

Colt Ryan, G, Evansville, Fr.

Jermaine Mallett, F, Missouri State, Jr.

Ryan Wedel, G, Drake, Jr.

Gabe Blair, F, Wichita State, Jr.

Newcomer of the Year _ Leonard


Toure Murry, Wichita State

Dinma Odiakosa, Illinois State

Adam Koch, Northern Iowa

Osiris Eldridge, Illinois State

Kenny Lawson, Creighton

Harry Marshall, Indiana State

Kwadzo Ahelegbe, Northern Iowa

Defensive MVP — Odiakosa