Wichita State Shockers

Wichita State moves into MVC volleyball semis

The Wichita State volleyball team advanced to the semifinals of the Missouri Valley Conference tournament with a 25-15, 25-27, 25-23, 25-19 win over Southern Illinois on Thursday at Omaha, Neb.

The Shockers will play No. 2 seed Missouri State in the semifinals at 4 p.m. today.

Creighton faces top-seeded, No. 20 Northern Iowa in the other semifinal.

Emily Stockman led WSU with 20 kills, while Sarah McGee had 16 kills, Kim Wadsworth had 12 kills and Emily Adney had a career-high 10 kills. Mary Elizabeth Hooper collected 54 assists, while Melissa Granville had 24 digs.

A kill by McGee gave the Shocks an early 8-4 lead in the fourth set and a Hooper kill increased the lead to 17-10. A 3-0 run by the Salukis made the score 17-10, but back-to-back kills by Stockman put the Shocks back up 19-13. Another 3-0 Saluki run cut the lead to 19-16, but the Shockers responded with a 4-0 run of their own to go ahead 22-16. WSU closed out the set with a 25-19 win.

WSU puts four on all-MVC team — Wichita State placed four on the 2009 All-Missouri Valley Conference volleyball team. Emily Stockman, Mary Elizabeth Hooper and Sarah McGee were all on the first team, while Kim Wadsworth earned second team honors.

It is the third all-conference honor for Stockman and the second for Hooper and McGee. In 2007 and 2008, Stockman was a first team selection, while Hooper and McGee were both first team selections in 2008. It is the first all-conference honor for Wadsworth.

All-MVC volleyball

Player of the year: Bre Payton, Northern Iowa

Libero/defensive specialist of the year: Cara Hackmann, Missouri State

Freshman of the year: Amy Braun, Northern Iowa

Coach of the year: Bobbi Petersen, Northern Iowa

First Team

Missouri State: Calli Norman, Cara Hackmann, Kelley Michnowicz

Illinois State: Mallory Leggett

Wichita State: Emily Stockman, Mary Elizabeth Hooper, Sarah McGee

Creighton: Jessica Houts

Northern Iowa: Bre Payton, Ellie Blankenship, Shannon Aschoff, Michelle Burow

Southern Illinois: Jennifer Berwanger

Second Team

Drake: Chelsea Lauersdorf, Michelle Reidy; Missouri State: Addie Foley; Indiana State: Whitney Fromm; Wichita State: Kim Wadsworth; Evansville: Emily Wandersee

All-Freshman Team

Northern Iowa: Amy Braun, Krista DeGeest; Illinois State: Angela Rego; Creighton: Megan Bober; Southern Illinois: Rachael Brown; Drake: Emily Heffernen