Kansas State University

K-State makes changes to Ahearn Fund

MANHATTAN — The Kansas State athletic department announced changes to the Ahearn Fund on Thursday.

The Ahearn Fund, K-State's National Fund for Athletics and Academic Excellence, will now include an enhanced priority points system.

Associate athletics director for development Chad Weiberg said the changes are designed to simplify the donor and season-ticket process, reward donor loyalty and increase consistency and fairness.

"We're trying to make it more relevant to our alumni all across the nation," he said.

The priority points system helps determine season-ticket placement and the distribution of tickets to high-demand events such as bowl games, Big 12 Championships and NCAA Tournaments, and also is used for parking and seating upgrades for season tickets and other special events.

But it will not hurt long-time season ticket holders who continue to meet minimum per-seat priority gift levels. Their seats will remain the same for 2010.

"We want to reward loyalty to people who have been long-term members to the Ahearn Fund," Weiberg said. "As long as you contribute to the Ahearn fund for the seats which you are in, you will keep those seats."

Another changes is related to the annual gift payment schedule. In order to help K-State achieve its fiscal goals, Ahearn Fund members are being asked to make their 2010 pledges and 25 percent of their gift payment by March 1. They are being asked to complete their gift contributions by June 15. K-State's fiscal year ends June 30.

"This new timeframe will allow our administration to complete the budget-planning process and be in a position to respond to needs, opportunities and market conditions that directly affect our ability to achieve our core goals," Weiberg said.