Big 12

Young, Suh top all-time Big 12 team

IRVING, Texas — In the 15 seasons of the Big 12, the talent pool has been deep enough to produce perennial contenders for the national championship, the Heisman Trophy and all other measures of success.

But who was the best of the best?

Former Texas quarterback Vince Young, former Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh and Oklahoma coach Bob Stoops rose to the top in voting for The Associated Press' all-time, all-Big 12 team, released Wednesday.

With the conference as we've known it going into its final weeks, the AP asked voters for this year's all-conference squad to pick a team based on the league's entire run. Voters were asked to take into account how a guy played over his entire tenure in the Big 12 and not to factor in whether the player became a star or a bust as a pro.

Suh and Young were chosen the top players on each side of the ball. Suh and Stoops were runaway winners in the voting by 20 writers from newspapers across the seven states.

Suh and Stoops had the same reaction when told of the news Wednesday: "Wow."

"I feel honored, for sure, and humbled because I've got great respect for the other strong, successful programs in the league and the other great coaches," Stoops said.

"That's huge!" said Suh, who at 6-foot-4, 307 pounds is rather large himself. "That's a great honor."

Young was a narrow choice over another Longhorns star, running back Ricky Williams. Of the 26 position players chosen, Suh and Williams were the only unanimous picks.

Kansas State's Terrence Newman was chosen as a defensive back, and Darren Sproles was an all-purpose player selection. No players from Kansas made the list.


Dominic Raiola, Nebraska


Jammal Brown, Oklahoma

Aaron Taylor, Nebraska

Justin Blalock, Texas

Russell Okung, Oklahoma State

Wide receiver

Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech

Rashaun Woods, Oklahoma State

Tight end

Chase Coffman, Missouri


Vince Young, Texas

Running back

Ricky Williams, Texas

Adrian Peterson, Oklahoma


Darren Sproles, K-State


Mason Crosby, Colorado

Defensive line

Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska

Tommie Harris, Oklahoma

Grant Wistrom, Nebraska

Brian Orakpo, Texas


Derrick Johnson, Texas

Dat Nguyen, Texas A&M

Rocky Calmus, Oklahoma

Teddy Lehman, Oklahoma

Defensive back

Roy Williams, Oklahoma

Terence Newman, Kansas State

Derrick Strait, Oklahoma

Michael Huff, Texas


Daniel Sepulveda, Baylor

Top offensive player: Vince Young, Texas

Top defensive player: Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska

Top coach: Bob Stoops, Oklahoma