Finger on the Weather

Tornado watch issued for southwest Kansas

Courtesy of National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

The National Weather Service has issued a tornado watch for portions of three states, including part of southwest Kansas.

The watch extends until 9 p.m. and includes 17 counties in Kansas: Clark, Finney, Ford, Grant, Gray, Hamilton, Haskell, Hodgeman, Kearny, Lane, Meade, Morton, Ness, Scott, Seward, Stanton and Stevens.

Among the cities included in the watch are Dodge City, Garden City, Liberal and Elkhart. The Oklahoma and Texas panhandles are also included in the watch.

Stan Finger: 316-268-6437, @StanFinger