Finger on the Weather

Tornado warning spans parts of three states

Saturday night saw something that doesn’t come along every day: a tornado warning that includes three different states.

The warning was issued at 7:16 p.m. for Cheyenne County in Kansas, Yuma County in Colorado and Dundy County in Nebraska. National Weather Service radar indicated a thunderstorm showed signs of rotation, prompting the warning.

The warning may seem unique to the average person, but it prompted barely a shrug in the Goodland branch of the National Weather Service.

“It just happened to clip three states,” meteorologist Camillia Tipton said. “Our counties are pretty large out here. It might be more common in eastern parts of the U.S., because the states are smaller.”

No tornado actually developed before the warning was canceled — first for Nebraska, then for Kansas and Colorado.

Stan Finger: 316-268-6437, @StanFinger