Trump approves disaster declaration in wake of late-winter storms across Kansas

President Trump has approved a disaster declaration for Kansas in response to severe weather that struck in different parts of the state between April 28 and May 3.

The severe weather included a winter storm, snow storm, straight-line winds and flooding in 27 counties across western Kansas and the southeastern corner of the state.

Federal funding is now available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.

Counties included in the declaration include Cherokee, Cheyenne, Crawford, Decatur, Finney, Gove, Graham, Grant, Greeley, Hamilton, Haskell, Kearny, Lane, Logan, Morton, Neosho, Norton, Rawlins, Scott, Seward, Sheridan, Sherman, Stanton, Stevens, Thomas, Wallace, and Wichita counties.

Federal money is also available to assist with the expenses related to snow removal in eight other Kansas counties.

Stan Finger: 316-268-6437, @StanFinger