Forget to wear your seat belt? The fine has tripled.
Want to bring your gun onto Wichita State University? Now you can.
Wish there were more areas you could drink outdoors? It might happen soon.
Some new Kansas laws go into effect Saturday. Here are seven to know about.
Guns on campus
Public colleges and universities will begin allowing concealed weapons on campus. The law was passed in 2013, but universities had been exempted from its requirements until July 1.
In order to continue to ban guns, universities must provide adequate security measures that include metal detectors and armed guards. It appears likely that most buildings on most campuses will not include security.
The requirements for carrying a concealed weapon remain the same, however. People who wish to carry must be 21. The state does issue permits, but no permit is required.
At Wichita State University, concealed carry will be allowed in all university buildings, including residence halls and on-campus apartments. The exception is beyond the lobby of the University Police Department.
Guns can be carried in briefcases, backpacks, purses or handbags as long as the person keeps it under their “uninterrupted control.” A concealed handgun should be in secure storage if it’s not on that person.
Seat belt fines
Fines for not wearing your seat belt will increase from $10 to $30 for everyone 18 and older.
In Kansas, drivers and front-seat passengers must wear seat belts. Law enforcement officers can pull you over for a seat belt violation.
Back-seat passengers can also be cited for not wearing a seat belt if there another citable offense at the time, according to the Kansas State Highway Patrol.
Cities and counties will now be allowed to create “common consumption areas” where people can move around freely with alcoholic beverages.
Current state law allows temporary permits for the consumption of alcohol for special events. Common consumption areas would be in place long term, and cities and counties could set the times and dates when alcohol is allowed.
Any public street in a common consumption area would have to be blocked off from traffic when alcohol is being consumed.
A new state law requires that women seeking an abortion receive information about when physicians received their medical degrees, when they started working at a clinic, whether they have malpractice insurance, whether they have faced disciplinary action, whether they have clinical privileges in a nearby hospital and whether they live in Kansas.
The bill specifies that the information, which must be given by the abortion provider, is to be printed in black ink in 12-point, Times New Roman font on white paper.
Hospitals will be prohibited from issuing a do-not-resuscitate order for a child without parental consent.
The law was pushed in part by Kansans for Life and is named after Simon Crosier, a 3-month-old who died in 2010. Crosier had a genetic disorder and was given a do-not-resuscitate order. His parents say they were not told of the order.
Under the law, hospitals must inform at least one parent verbally and in writing of the intent to issue a DNR order and a reasonable attempt must be made to inform the other parent. Either parent may refuse to consent to the DNR order.
First responders, school nurses and others will be now be able to obtain an emergency medication that counteracts an opioid overdose without a prescription.
People seeking the medication must first consult with a pharmacist to learn how to identify those who have overdosed, as well as how to administer the medication.
People who seek to get or renew a commercial driver’s license will now have to complete training about how to identify and prevent human trafficking.
The attorney general must approve the training, but it may not be immediately available. The law requires the attorney general and the director of vehicles to implement rules and regulations for the training by January 2019.
Contributing: Daniel Salazar and Stan Finger of The Eagle