News Columns & Blogs

Tornado watch issued for northern and northeast Kansas

A tornado watch has been issued for 30 counties in northcentral Kansas until 10 p.m.

Large hail and damaging winds appear to be the primary threats from the strong thunderstorms, according to the National Weather Service.

“Given the amount of instability, a tornado or two will be hard to rule out,” a weather statement from the agency cautions.

The strongest storms are most likely to from along and north of aline from Great Bend to McPherson to Cottonwood Falls.

The counties in the watch include: Atchison, Brown, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Franklin, Geary, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Leavenworth, Linn, Lyon, Marshall, Miami, Morris, Nemaha, Osage, Ottawa, Pottawatomie, Republic, Riley, Saline, Shawnee, Wabaunsee, Washington and Wyandotte.