News Columns & Blogs

New chairman to be sworn in Wednesday for county commission

Sedgwick County commissioners will get a new leader Wednesday — likely Karl Peterjohn, sources say.

Peterjohn, a Republican, is the commission’s newest commissioner. This marks his second year in office. Kelly Parks’ term as chairman will end.

Immediately after their meeting, commissioners will have a reception for the new chairman as part of a “passing of the gavel” ceremony.