News Columns & Blogs

Three Kansans voted not to rebuke Wilson

An Opinion Line contributor wondered why Rep. Todd Tiahrt and Sens. Pat Roberts and Sam Brownback hadn't commented on Rep. Joe Wilson's "You lie!" cry at President Obama last week. Well, Tiahrt, R-Goddard, and the other Kansans in the House did weigh in Tuesday, with their votes on a House-passed resolution of disapproval against Wilson's outburst. Tiahrt voted "no," as did Rep. Jerry Moran, R-Hays, and Rep. Lynn Jenkins, R-Topeka, and 164 other Republicans and 12 Democrats. Rep. Dennis Moore, D-Lenexa, voted "yes," as did 232 other Democrats and seven Republicans.