News Columns & Blogs

Severe thunderstorm watch issued for Wichita and southern Kansas

The National Weather Service has issued a severe thunderstorm watch until 10 p.m. for 12 counties in Kansas, including the Wichita metropolitan area.

Counties included in the watch are Sedgwick, Harvey, Butler, Reno, Sumner, Kingman, Cowley, Comanche, Barber, Harper, Kiowa and Pratt. Nine Oklahoma counties are also included in the watch.

“A few strong to marginally severe storms will be possible this evening” in the warned area, according to a statement issued by the Wichita office of the weather service.