News Columns & Blogs

Hersman sworn in as NTSB chairwoman

Deborah Hersman was sworn in this afternoon as chairwoman of the National Transportation Safety Board. President Barack Obama nominated her for a two-year term June 18. The Senate confirmed the nomination on Friday.

She also will serve a five-year term as a Board member.

Hersman replaces the outgoing chairman Mark Rosenker.  Rosenker has been head of the agency, either as chairman or acting chairman,  since March 2005. The affable Rosenker was in Wichita in April and spoke at the Wichita Aero Club luncheon.

Hersman has been a member of the Safety Board since  2004.She’s been on the scene at 16 major transportation accidents.