News Columns & Blogs

Tiahrt votes against 'pay-go'; Moran for it

Rep. Todd Tiahrt, R-Goddard, was the only Kansan in the U.S. House to vote last week against "pay-as-you-go," or "pay-go" — rules mandating that Congress pay for tax cuts or spending increases. Tiahrt said the measure wouldn't be effective. "The lack of fiscal restraint and numerous spending loopholes left a pay-go shell that only encourages tax increases," he said in a statement. Rep. Jerry Moran, R-Hays, wanted even more restrictive rules but supported the legislation as "a modest effort to control government spending and decrease our bloated government programs." Reps. Lynn Jenkins, R-Topeka, and Dennis Moore, D-Lenexa, also voted for "pay-go."