News Columns & Blogs

Moran gets a JoCo booster shot

Kansas City Star columnist Steve Kraske was impressed by Thursday’s announcement that seven mayors in Johnson County (Overland Park, Lenexa, Leawood, Olathe, Shawnee, Prairie Village and Mission) are backing Rep. Jerry Moran over Rep. Todd Tiahrt for the GOP nomination for U.S. Senate next year. Kraske wrote: "With Moran hailing from Hays and Tiahrt from Wichita, Johnson County Republicans are as valuable as Satchel Paige autographs. The mayors' verdict will reverberate all over the state's most populous county."