News Columns & Blogs

Heat advisory issued for Wichita area

WICHITA - The National Weather Service has issued a heat advisory for 11 counties in southern Kansas, including Wichita and portions of the metropolitan area.

The advisory is in effect until 8 p.m. and includes Butler, Kingman, Sedgwick, Harper, Sumner, Cowley, Elk, Wilson, Chautauqua, Montgomery and Labette counties.

Among the cities included in the advisory are El Dorado, Augusta, Kingman, Anthony, Harper, Wellington, Winfield, Arkansas City, Chanute, Coffeyville and Parsons.

With high humidity levels and temperatures soaring above 100, the heat index is expected to top 105 in portions of southern Kansas, weather service officials said.