Kansas highway projects announced

Grants for projects to improve segments of state highways within more than a dozen Kansas communities have been announced by the Kansas Department of Transportation, including projects inside Lyons, Newton, Garden City and Jetmore.

In all, the state will provide $8.7 million toward the "geometric improvement" projects estimated to cost nearly $13 million and slated for construction in fiscal 2014. The cities must provide matching funds to cover the remainder of the costs, based on each city's size.

Among the projects:

* Lyons — Widen about a third of a mile of U.S. 56/K-96 from two lanes to four lanes, going from the west city limits east to the existing four lane section, said District Engineer Robert Cook in Hutchinson. KDOT will contribute $750,000 toward to estimated $1,135,900 cost.

* Newton — Add right-turn lanes on the ramps for the U.S. 50/K-15 interchange, to improve traffic flow on the ramps. Total estimated project costs are $660,000, of which KDOT will supply $594,000.

"Both ramps are two-way traffic until you get to the ramp where it splits off," Cook said. "But the lanes are not wide enough to add turn lanes, so they'll have to go back up the ramps and widen them."

* Garden City — Widen about a half-mile of K-156 between Main Street and Third Street from four to five lanes, adding a center turn lane, said Kirk Hutchinson, public affairs manager for KDOT's Southwest District.

The state will provide $850,000 toward the estimated $1.75 million cost.

* Jetmore — Reconstruct U.S. 283, replacing the existing brick street with concrete and replacing storm sewer inlets. At the same time, the city will replace a water line in the area, Cook said. The two block project, from Highway Street to Best Street, is estimated at $1.1 million, of which the state will provide $700,000.

* Wellington — Widen U.S. 160 from Day Street to the Wellington High School entrance to four lanes. The state will provide $495,000 toward the $550,000 project.

Other communities selected for the program and the state contribution include: Manhattan, $216,000; Seneca, $700,000; Lawrence, $500,000; Jewell, $678,100; Abilene, $691,300; Sharon Springs, $612,500; Norton, $750,000; Coffeyville, $450,000; and Pittsburg, $800,000.