People You Should Know (Oct. 8)


Aron Dunn, vice president at Allen, Gibbs & Houlik’s assurance services and agribusiness team leader, has been reappointed to the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants’ Accounting and Review Services committee.


Heather Bohrer has joined Armstrong Chamberlin as website developer.


Patty Beamer, a Wichita State University instructor, has been awarded the Nurse Educator with the Nurse’s Touch Award from the Assessment Technologies Institute Nursing Education.

Health Care

Tamara Smith, APRN, has joined the staff at Affiliated Family Counselors.

Brenda Grow, a licensed marriage and family therapist, has joined the staff at Affiliated Family Counselors.

Lisa Harrelson, a critical care nurse at Wesley Medical Center, has been named the Kansas Hospital Association’s Healthcare Worker of the Year.


Cynthia Hower, president of Kellerman Insurance in Holton, has been appointed chair of the national board of InVest, a classroom-to-career education program for the insurance industry.


P. Kelly Donley and Edward Keeley, attorneys with McDonald, Tinker, Skaer, Quinn & Herrington, P.A., have been recognized in the 22nd edition of Best Lawyers in America.

Jonathan McConnell, a Wichita criminal defense attorney, has been commissioned as a Kentucky Colonel by Kentucky Gov. Steve Beshear. McConnell is originally from Kentucky. The Honorable Order of Kentucky Colonels is an independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to providing education and care to children and others in need.

Chet Compton has joined the law firm of Fleeson, Gooing, Coulson & Kitch as an associate.


The Kansas Manufactured Housing Association has announced that Dave Winter, sales representative for Skyline Corp., Arkansas City, and Wanda Gibson-Gudde, manager of Lakeside Landing in Wichita, have been elected to serve as members on the KMHA Board of Directors for 2015-2016.


The Orpheum Theatre has announced that its current president, Jennifer Allen, will take on a new role as board member of the Orpheum Theatre beginning in January 2016.


The Wichita Crime Commission has announced its officers for 2015-2016: Chris Steincamp, Depew Gillen Rathbun & McInteer, chairman of the board; Kevin Nichols, Nichols Investment Group UBS, president; Mike Hattrup, Wilco, vice president; Stephanie Fisk McCurdy, Keller Williams Hometown Partners, treasurer; and Kerry Clark, Business Consultants, secretary. New board members include: Sue Pearce, Piping and Equipment; Randy Roths, Cornejo; and Jackie Williams, State of Kansas Office of the Attorney General.

Shelbye Smith, human resource manager at iSi Environmental Services, has been awarded the 2015 Trombold Achievement & Kansas HR Professional of the Year Award by the Kansas State Council of the Society for Human Resource Management.

Real estate

Leslie Wessel has joined the east office of J.P. Weigand & Sons as a residential sales associate.

Kara Barrus has joined Berkshire Hathaway PenFed Realty as a sales associate.

Cullen McCafferty has joined Camelot Realty as a licensed real estate sales associate.


William Cozine, Broadway Mortuary, has been appointed by the governor to a second term on the Kansas State Board of Mortuary Arts. At a recent meeting of the board, Cozine was elected president of the board.

Boyd Hiveley has been promoted to vice president at Greenway Electric.

Terre Johnson has joined the Union Rescue Mission as director of development.

Bob Hatem has joined Building Controls and Services HVAC Equipment department in Kansas City.

Related stories from Wichita Eagle