Wichitans appointed to e-health council

Jon Rosell of the Medical Society of Sedgwick County, Marta Linenberger of Foulston Siefkin and Claudia Blackburn of the Sedgwick County Health Department are among those named to the e-Health Advisory Council, which will help the Kansas Department of Health and Environment create plans for a statewide health information exchange.

Planning for the exchange, which will be funded with federal money, is expected to begin in January, with implementation beginning in 2011.

The goal is to create an information exchange that will connect Kansas health care systems together electronically, to share data for coordinating patient care.