Sedgwick County commissioners choose Dave Unruh as new chairman

Sedgwick County Commissioner Dave Unruh will lead the board this year.

Commissioners elected him chairman Wednesday. The board appointed Tim Norton as chairman pro-tem.

Unruh, a Republican, represents District 1, which covers the northeastern part of the county. Norton, a Democrat, represents District 2 in the south-central part of the county, including Haysville.

Commissioner Jim Skelton gave up the gavel. Chairmen serve one-year terms.

Unruh was chairman pro-tem the past year. He has been chairman three other times — 2005, 2007 and 2011.