Some Kansas residents will have more time to renew their vehicle tags and get license plates.
The Kansas Division of Vehicles announced today it will extend the renewal period for those who were unable to meet registration deadlines, after the department experienced sluggish processing times today using the state’s new vehicle title and registration system.
The Department of Revenue and Kansas law enforcement agencies will allow the following grace periods to drivers and vehicle owners who need to renew or register:
• May 31 for tags expired April 30 (last names beginning with C or D)
Digital Access For Only $0.99
For the most comprehensive local coverage, subscribe today.
• June 29 for tags set to expire May 31 (last names E, F or G)
• June 29 for 30-day permits set to expire in May
• Cardboard 30-day permits may be displayed through June 29Despite today’s delays, in-person renewal will be available Tuesday at county offices, according to a Division of Vehicles news release.
Residents may renew tags in-person or by mail. Online renewal is also available at https://www.kswebtags.org, although the system was down for maintenance Monday.