Wichita district shuffles principals as part of school changes

At least 15 Wichita elementary schools will have new principals this fall, changes prompted in part by the opening and closing of several schools.

District officials announced the leadership changes Monday.

They include new assignments for two principals whose schools will close this year: Dave Saunders, principal at Bryant Elementary, will move to Price-Harris Elementary. Bill Savage, principal at Emerson Open Magnet, will move to Cleaveland Elementary.

The district announced last month that Michele Ingenthron, principal at Lincoln Elementary, will lead Ortiz Elementary, a new elementary school at 33rd North and Arkansas. Shawn Springer, principal at Price-Harris, will be principal of a new K-8 school in southeast Wichita.

Other new principal assignments announced Monday include: Jane Walker, Bostic; Jim Johnson, Chisholm Trail; Kimberly Jackson, Clark; Ann Patterson, College Hill; Bruce Shelton, Gammon; Shannon Benoit, Gardiner; Julie Bettis, Harry Street; Kathy Stybr, Isely; Judy Wright, Mueller; Stacie Ricker, OK; Tamara Alexander, Peterson; and Stacey Hall, Washington.

Officials said more principal assignments will be announced later in the spring.