Wichita Sports Commission names awards finalists

The Wichita Sports Commission has named its finalists for its 14th annual awards banquet, which is June 30 at The Hyatt Regency.

The finalists for the Lynette Woodard high school female athlete of the year are Heights’ Jhasmin Bowen, Bishop Carroll’s Sarah Balderas and Kapaun Mount Carmel’s Mackenzie Maki.

The Barry Sanders male high school athlete of the year finalists are Rose Hill’s Brady Foltz, Andover Central’s Boston Stiverson and Heights’ Evan Wessel.

The college female athlete finalists are Cowley’s Roslandy Acosta, Butler’s Cindy Benitez, Newman’s Laryssa Ferreira, Wichita State’s Tonya Nero.

The college male athlete finalists are Butler’s Cornellius Carradine, Cowley’s Josh Gracia, Wichita State’s Graham Hatch, and Newman’s Noah Smithson.

The finalists for the professional athlete of the year are the Wild’s Randy Kelly, the Wingnuts’ Ryan Patterson and the Thunder’s Matt Robinson.