Jester Awards honor Kansas high school theatrics

Two East High students were selected Friday night to represent Wichita at the National High School Musical Theater Awards in New York City next month.

Keaton Jadwin and Kassiani Menas, who were recognized for their performances in "Into the Woods," also received cash awards of $1,000.

In New York, they will compete for potential theater scholarships.

The two were recognized at the Music Theatre of Wichita's 10th annual Jester Awards at Century II. The awards honor south-central Kansas high school students for excellence in musical theater performances.

Music Theatre producing artistic director Wayne Bryan said in an interview before the ceremony that judges viewed 31 productions at 28 high schools before selecting the winners.

"Some kids get honors in sports, and some kids get honors for academic achievement," he said. "But there are some arts kids out there that don't fall within either of those. This is a way to give some recognition to them."

Among this year's winners:

* Overall production:

Wichita Collegiate for "West Side Story."

East High School for "Into the Woods."

* Direction of show:

Betsy Dutton of Sterling High School for "Bye Bye Birdie."

Matthew Rumsey of Wichita Collegiate for "West Side Story."

Derrick Gronenwold of East High School for "Into the Woods."

* Leading actress:

Brooklynn Dossey of Goddard High School for her role as Annie Oakley in "Annie Get Your Gun."

Lindsey Wells of Wichita Collegiate for her role as Maria in "West Side Story."

Kassiani Menas of East High School for her role as the witch in "Into the Woods."

Jean Rust of East High for her role as the baker's wife in "Into the Woods."

* Leading actor:

Dalton Zogleman of Clearwater High School for his role as Seymour in "Little Shop of Horrors."

Cooper Rowe of Wichita Collegiate for his role as Tony in "West Side Story."

Keaton Jadwin of East High School for his role as the baker in "Into the Woods."

Related stories from Wichita Eagle