Severe thunderstorm watch covers more than half of Kansas

The National Weather Service has issued a severe thunderstorm watch for more than 50 counties in Kansas – including the Wichita metropolitan area – until 5 p.m.

The watch stretches from Oklahoma to Nebraska, covering roughly the eastern half of the state.

Among the cities included in the watch are Russell, Salina, Hutchinson, Emporia and Wellington.