Wichita Northwest student named Presidential Scholar

WICHITA — Daniel Depew, a senior at Wichita Northwest High School, was named a U.S. Presidential Scholar today.

He is one of 141 seniors selected nationally for the honor by U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan. The students selected have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement, artistic excellence, leadership, citizenship, service, and contribution to school and community. They will be honored in Washington, D.C., from June 18-21.

The scholars include one boy and girl from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and from U.S. families living abroad. The group also includes 15 scholars chosen at-large and 20 Presidential Scholars in the Arts.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was created in 1964.

Also selected from Kansas were Victoria Gilman, Lawrence Free State; Rex A. Tai, Blue Valley North, and Samuel Teeter (arts scholar), Topeka High.