Kansas governor declares state of emergency

Kansas Gov. Sam Brownback has declared a state of emergency in 53 counties as a massive winter storm began moving into the state.

The governor issued the declaration for the eastern half of the state at 6 a.m. Tuesday as the first reports of heavy snow began. The National Weather Service reported heavy, blowing snow causing limited visibility early Tuesday in Neodesha, Chanute, Independence and Oswego.

The University of Kansas, Kansas State University and Wichita State University, as well as many other colleges and most schools in eastern Kansas, were closed.