USDA designates 4 Kansas counties as disaster areas

WICHITA | The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated four counties in Kansas as natural disaster areas.

The agency's declaration Thursday cited excessive rain, heat and drought between April 23 and Nov. 1 of last year.

The four counties are Coffey, Osage, Shawnee and Wabaunsee. Such a designation makes farmers eligible for low interest emergency loans.

Farmers in contiguous counties would also qualify for natural disaster assistance. Those counties are Allen, Anderson, Douglas, Franklin, Geary, Greenwood and Jackson.

Also qualifying for aid are Jefferson, Lyon, Morris Pottawatomie, Riley and Woodson counties.